DIY Chalkboard

framegraphic

After this project, I want to chalkboard EVERYTHING. Okay maybe not everything, but it was so easy and quick, not to mention inexpensive. The results were stunning! I found this big, old dusty frame at a thrift store, and I immediately knew what I wanted to do with it…

frame1

This project was long overdue. I love doodling our dinner menus at home (when I have time) but my small Michael’s chalkboard just wasn’t cutting it for my big ideas (see below):

FullSizeRender

Cute.. but I wanted bigger! Lately I’ve really been into do-it-yourself projects, so I thought this would be the perfect time to do a step-by-step tutorial for my first DIY chalkboard. I made this one for just about $10- and I bought larger sized items (to use for future projects as well) so you could probably do this project for $5 if you want!

This is what you’ll need:

  • Frame: I wanted to make a large chalkboard, so I bought this 30″ x 24″ solid wood frame at Goodwill for $4.99
  • Chalkboard paint: the black chalkboard paint by Craft Smart I found at Michael’s, I paid $2.99 (originally $4.99- I used their 40% coupon)
  • Paint for frame: I used the Delta Ceramcoat Acrylic Paint in White from Joann’s for $2.75 (originally $5.49- I used their 50% coupon)
  • Brushes: I bought my foam brushes at Target (5 for $1 in the dollar section)- but I’ve seen them even less expensive at craft stores

frame1frame12

frame13

To begin, I popped out the picture which was fixed onto a fiberboard backing- this part will become my chalkboard. I set the frame aside. You don’t have to separate the frame and board, but I did to keep things as clean as possible. I’ve also heard of applying the chalkboard paint directly on glass (if you’re using a large picture frame), but I’ve also heard of it peeling off when you go to erase your chalk… and I didn’t want to run into those issues- I don’t have time for that!

frame2 frame3

I cleaned off the picture fiberboard  with alcohol and let it dry for a few minutes.Then I shook up the chalkboard paint and applied it to the board.

frame4frame5

I ended up doing two layers, one with my strokes going left to right, and one going top to bottom. This allowed for the most even coverage. I let it dry for 2-3 hours as the bottle directed. You can see my first layer of paint drying below on the left.. and then the second picture it’s all dry.

frame6frame7

Now we need to condition our chalkboard. Conditioning helps so you’ll be able to erase more easily, and won’t see the aftermath of chalks past. Here’s a good example of what happens when you don’t condition- and this is after scrubbing! How obvious is it that we had chicken kabobs last night?

frameunconditioned

To condition your board, take a piece of chalk and run it lengthwise all over the board. Then wipe it away! Now the board is more resilient and looks a little less perfect, and I prefer it that way!

frame8frame9

Next I grabbed my frame and went to work. Again I used the alcohol to wipe off all the dust and cobwebs and who knows what was on there. Then I painted two coats on the back of the frame, and two coats on the front, letting it dry about an hour in between (I used a quick dry paint).

frame10 frame11

Painting was so easy and quick- I almost did a third coat- but I decided not to once I saw the finish after two coats. I love how there’s some dark peeking through, it looks slightly rustic and soo pretty..

frame14 frame15 (2)

After this was completely dry, I popped my chalkboard back into the frame and admired my work- finally a big chalkboard of my own! I decided to add a homemade burlap/gold bunting to the top (another easy tutorial coming soon!), and an inspirational verse to top it all off:

frame19

I absolutely LOVE how this turned out, it’s the perfect addition to our home. I don’t know what’s better – the fact that this chalkboard is prettier than I imagined, or that it was even less expensive than I thought it would be! 🙂

Let me know if you plan on trying this and how it goes- I hope you have as much fun as I did!

xoxo,

Smitha

ps- don’t forget to subscribe below to have future DIYs delivered to you ❤

22 thoughts on “DIY Chalkboard

  1. Good tip with the conditioning. I’ve recently made a board as well, but luckily I forgot to buy chalk so I haven’t written anything yet. Now I can use your tip!
    And I know what you mean with wanting to paint everything. I want to make my entire studio into a chalkboard!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I’m definitely going to have to try this out soon. I also never knew you have to “condition” the board so it’s easier to erase. For my wedding, I had a chalkboard which I messed up on. I tried to erase it but it looked horrible as it didn’t clear all the way through. Had I known this, I could have saved time and money (and unnecessary stress on top of stress) lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

