Ipsy October Glam Bag Review + Bonus Ipsy Goodies!

Ipsy Oct 2015

So here I am on month five of my Ipsy subscription and I’m still loving it. In the beginning, I thought I wouldn’t be as excited about my bags as the months went by, but (thankfully) I was wrong! I have to admit, I totally stalked my mailbox this month (okay actually just the tracking info) because not only was I excited about trying some new beauty treats, but I also had some extra goodies come along with my October bag. I redeemed some points for a few full size items, and I’ll get into the details of that later… ❤

Ipsy is a goodie bag for beauty lovers. I might not be a makeup artist, but I love discovering products and creating new looks, and just having fun with it. I’m not one to buy expensive products unless I’m positive I will love them, so this subscription is perfect for someone like me. With Ipsy you get about 5 full size or deluxe size products in a cute makeup bag for $10/month and you can cancel anytime. Usually I calculate my bag’s total value between $40-$60. I love all things beauty, but I hate wasting money! So before I subscribed, I read sooo many reviews which were incredibly helpful to me- so here is a review of this month’s bag and all of the surprises that came with it 🙂

Here’s what I received in my October Ipsy glam bag- “Alter Ego”:

Emité Make Up Professional Slant Tweezer (FULL SIZE)- $24.27
DOSE Color Pill Nail Polish in Stormy (Ipsy Exclusive shade)- $6.67
theBalm Cosmetics Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long-Lasting Liquid Lipstick (deluxe sample)- $3.11
Dr. Brandt Skincare microdermabrasion skin exfoliant (deluxe sample)- $10.14
Delectable Coconut & Cream Ultra Nourishing Hand Cream (FULL SIZE)- $5.50

Total October Glam Bag Value: $49.69

My first thoughts on this month’s bag is that I’m really impressed with the variety! A beauty tool, nail polish, liquid lipstick, facial treatment, and a hand cream. I’m loving the assortment of products here. The first thing I grabbed was the Delectable coconut + cream hand cream because my hands were feeling pretty dry. I was surprised to love the scent and feeling of this cream. I think I’m one of the only people in the world who doesn’t love the smell of coconuts, but it wasn’t overwhelming or obnoxious at all. Smelled a little like vanilla, too, which I love. It absorbs quickly and doesn’t leave a greasy residue behind. I’m a fan.

The tweezers are nice and I love that they come in a little travel case. I have several pairs of tweezers so I wasn’t like “Yay my EIGHTH pair!”, but this one is good at the tiny hairs that I usually just ignore. I also like that it’s pink 🙂 I’m keeping this one in my makeup bag.

Next I tried the DOSE nail polish, curious to see how it looked with my deeper skintone. Like I mentioned in last month’s Ipsy bag review, I’m not sure if dark colors look good on me or if they make me look ashy… I’m used to lighter, creamier colors and warmer tones… what do you think of the picture below? I wasn’t sure what color I was actually seeing. Is it grey? Dark purple? Charcoal? I decided to go with my husband’s guess of “grapey-black” (his interpretation of grey/grape/black). Yeah I’m not sure about grapey-black, but the formulation is great: quick drying, and opaque 🙂 I wasn’t in love with how this color looked on me, so I gave it away to one of my good friends. Here’s how it looks on its own, without a base coat or top coat:

Dose Nail polish

Next I had to swatch the Meet Matt(e) liquid lipstick from theBalm. I don’t own a product like this, and I literally wondered if “liquid lipstick” just meant the same thing as a longwearing pigmented lipgloss? See, this is why I need Ipsy 🙂 because no, no it is not the same. As you can see in the picture below, the product dried to a gorgeous matte finish like it’s name implies. Furthermore, I had to literally scrub this thing off hours after I swatched it. Now I can see why this is worth $17- I can apply it and forget about it ALL day. Yes please. Makes me want to buy all of their colors.

the Balm Meet Matt Hughes Liquid Lipstick

The Dr. Brandt microdermabrasion exfoliant made my face feel beyond smooth. I used a pea-sized amount of it and massaged it on my damp face for 1-2 minutes like the tube advised. My skin felt amazing! I don’t know if I’ll see any of the long-term effects the product claims to have (reducing fine lines, etc.), but I love how this scrub is finely-milled. I don’t feel like I’m being abrasive at all, it feels like my face is freshly polished without a patch of dry skin in sight.

I’m very impressed with the quality and the variety of products I received in this month’s bag. I would say the stand out products for me are the liquid lipstick from theBalm and the Delectable hand cream. Also- I redeemed some Ipsy points for three FULL SIZE products, and I’m obsessed with them all:

Oct Ipsy Bag extra goodies

BomBeauty’s Makeup Bom in Royal – $15.00
NEUMA neuStyling smoothing crème – $23.00
Luxie Beauty Tapered Blending Eye Brush 205 – $12.00

Total Value of free bonus goodies: $50.00

The makeup brush cleaner tool was amazing- I cleaned about 20 brushes in just MINUTES. No more dreading this task! The smoothing creme made my hair super soft and gave it extra volume. The blending eye brush beautifully softened any harsh lines, even with the smokiest of eyes on our date night. So as you can see, I literally had about $100 of beauty items sent to me this month by Ipsy. Now do you see why I was so excited? 🙂

If you’re interested in signing up for Ipsy- click here! If you’re already an Ipster, I have to know- what did you get in your glam bag this month? Want to see my past Ipsy glam bags? Click here for a detailed look and value breakdown of my bag from last month.

xoxo,

Smitha

ps- be sure to subscribe below to have future reviews & DIYs delivered to you!

4 thoughts on “Ipsy October Glam Bag Review + Bonus Ipsy Goodies!

Leave a Reply

