$10 Valentine’s Day Gift Idea

maps main

Happy (almost) Valentine’s Day everyone! This holiday has always been so special to me, because personally, I believe it’s about celebrating the loved ones in your life- not necessarily just romance! I have sweet memories of my parents giving me little gifts and notes and teaching me how to love myself LONG before my husband was ever in the picture. 🙂 I truly feel it helped set the foundation for my confidence and the sense of self-worth I have today. 

That said, I hope you get a chance to make this DIY for someone YOU love! Maybe you want to make it for yourself, and I totally support that! Do you boo boo. We are all about handmade gifts at our house. I will usually do one handmade gift and one store-bought gift for a special occasion. I made this for my husband as one of his anniversary gifts last year, and he loved it. The hearts represent where I’m from, where he’s from, and where we met. It’s such a beautiful visual reminder of our story. Plus it’s easy and inexpensive! You know I’m a fan of that. 

Want to pin this for later? Click here.

maps 1

So here’s what you’ll need:

  • Picture frame- I used an Ikea RIBBA frame (fits a 5×7 photo with mat)
  • Maps of special locations- you can buy the maps, but I found it much easier to find one online and print it. I went through National Geographic- click here to find yours.
  • Scrapbook paper for background- I bought mine at Hobby Lobby for around $1.

So just a head’s up, this really is as easy as it looks. 🙂 I think the most difficult part was finding the maps and size I wanted. After I printed the maps, I created a heart stencil that would fit three hearts in the frame I bought from Ikea. To save yourself some trouble, you can click here for some heart templates in various sizes (courtesy 2020site.org).

I traced the heart stencil (very lightly with pencil) on the maps and then cut them out. For the background, I measured my scrapbook paper with the back of the frame and cut out a piece that would fit perfectly. Then I placed the mat on top of that, and positioned my hearts in the order I wanted them to be. I just took a piece of tape and made a circle so it was double-sided, then stuck the heart on. Put the glass & frame back on and that’s it! Literally. that. easy. I’m not kidding- I think this took me 15 minutes! Easy, inexpensive, and quick. YESSS. 🙂

As far as the number of locations/maps- do as many or as little as you want! Put your own spin on it. That’s what I did- this was inspired by some map art I saw for sale… I thought, “Hey I can do that- and do it the way I want for MUCH less.” Yes I did- and I just LOVE how it looks in the middle of our gallery wall…

maps 4

I hope you make this DIY because it was so fun and special for me. Anyone who receives it will know how much heart you put into it. Whether it’s for Valentine’s Day, an anniversary, mother’s day… the possibilities for this gift are endless. Who will you gift yours to?

Happy love day everyone! And remember, regardless if you’re in a relationship or not, you are so very loved. (John 3:16)

Smitha

ps- don’t forget to subscribe below to have future DIYs delivered to you!

 

6 thoughts on “$10 Valentine’s Day Gift Idea

Leave a Reply

