Do yourself a favor: try the KonMari Method

konmari graphic

Clutter makes me cranky. Messes cause me stresses. I could go on and on but here’s my point- I am always trying to find ways to make organizing interesting or “sexy” because frankly- I hate doing it. Does anyone actually enjoy this? Why does it feel like we’re always re-organizing the same things? By now you’ve probably heard of the newest organizing phenomenon: the KonMari Method. If not, come here… take my hand, let me introduce you. Friend, meet an approach that could change your life. Let me tell you how I’ve practically applied it to mine.

The KonMari method is something I was a little resistant to at first. In a world striving for Pinterest-perfection, I don’t need another “thing” to make me feel inadequate! Plus, there are too many trends and fads out there to keep track of… but after I incorporated some of the simple principles into my life, it’s really helped me and my home. Professional Japanese organizer Marie Kondo created the KonMari method and I love what she focuses on:  what brings you JOY. You don’t need a ton of money (good thing because I’m super thrifty)- all you need is to be honest with yourself when looking at your clutter. What brings you joy? Keep those things. What doesn’t? Get rid of those.

KonMari win #1: I was getting frustrated with keeping my clothes in order so I tried this method. It was amazing how many things I was hanging on to because “I paid good money for this” or some other excuse. Did it bring me joy? The truth was, it didn’t do anything for me. I never reached for it to wear it, but it hung there in the closet taking up space. So I put it in the Goodwill bag, and embraced that I could bless someone else with it. And you know what happened? I kept the things I loved, the things I actually wore. My closet felt bigger– and it looked a lot better, too! And here’s a tip when you can’t close those drawers full of clothes- try rolling them. I can fit twice as much in there now, and see each item much better! Take a look at my “lounge” clothes drawer now:

drawer

KonMari win #2: This week I was in the kitchen opening the refrigerator and it happened again: things falling off the fridge, onto the floor. Usually I just slap them back on with a magnet but this time, I wanted a better solution. It was really bugging me you guys. I took everything off the fridge- there was literally dozens of cards, recipes, save-the-dates, and invitations cluttering a space that I need to function every day. I was coming face to face with something that was visually stressing me out. This.

fridge 1

Should I throw these things away? No, they serve a purpose! Do they bring me joy? Yes- I love looking forward to celebrating these special occasions! So I took a few minutes to put the recipes away in my recipe binder, most of the cards away in a box, and chronologically organized all of the save-the-dates/invitations. Then I simply took a long piece of twine (Hobby Lobby) and some small craft clothespins (Walmart) and organized all of the invitations by date, placing a large gold clothespin on the “next event” we’re attending.

display

Not to say I don’t have the event details entered in my planner/schedule/phone, but now when I look at this display I don’t feel stressed out and busy- I feel excited! This simple act de-cluttered my space and my mind. I only kept a few things on our fridge- some pictures, shopping lists, and the most recent cards.

fridge b&a

As you can see, everything is now much more organized and out of the way. I can still enjoy seeing the invites on my wall, and I love that they’re arranged by date so I know what’s next for us. They’re displayed near our kitchen, but I’ll probably move these into my office space soon.

I know it’s not rocket science, but it’s made a big difference for me. These are just a few ways I’ve found to apply the KonMari method to my home (read more about it here). Recently my mom told me she’s organizing her bedroom, and I asked her the same thing I hope you ask yourself when decluttering your home or your life: What brings YOU joy?

Hugs & Joy,

❤️Smitha

3 thoughts on “Do yourself a favor: try the KonMari Method

  1. I read one of KonMari’s books and thought there was a lot of wisdom there. I recognize the display of things that give you joy. You did a nice job on that.

    Like

  2. Great post! I am always looking for ways to be more organized. I couldn’t help but notice the Seahawks gear in your drawer… My family and I are huge Seahawks fans 🙂 We live in Oregon, but we still support our team up north!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

