Pinterest Tested: Homemade Laundry Detergent??

Continuing my “Pinterest Tested” series, I wanted to feature something I’ve been seeing more and more lately: homemade natural products. I became curious after seeing a friend post about how she loves make her own powder laundry detergent. My first thought was “that sounds hard…” but after talking to her (thanks Steph!) and looking up some recipes, I found out it’s actually really easy. In my quest to move toward all-natural in our home, I decided to pin a recipe for an easy and quick homemade laundry detergent, using a few simple ingredients. The true test was to see if 1.) it would actually clean our clothes and 2.) we would see/feel any difference in our sensitive skin.

My husband and I have sensitive skin,- we’ve dealt with a number of annoying issues because of it. Eczema, acne, bacne… it’s made me want to take a good look at the ingredients in the products we’re using and kick out the gross chemicals. I’ve thought a lot about what we’re directly putting on our skin (lotions, soaps, etc.) but not much about what I’m soaking our clothes in. I decided to try out this recipe from Wellness Mama because I liked how simple it was- I made some adjustments putting my own spin on it.

Recently during my lunchtime I whipped up some of this homemade laundry detergent and decided to snap along the way:

laundry 1laundry 2laundry 3laundry 4laundry 5laundry 6laundry 7laundry 8

I’ve made a couple of batches now and I can tell you, our clothes are definitely clean and feel soft, which I really like. I do miss the lingering Febreeze smell of my store bought laundry soap, but what exactly was I inhaling then? Although there’s really no trace of a scent with this DIY detergent, I like the idea of less chemicals in the wash. The best part- this is SO quick! It takes me less than 10 minutes.

Try it, I hope you like it!!

Love & Clean Laundry,

❤️Smitha

10 thoughts on “Pinterest Tested: Homemade Laundry Detergent??

      1. I can’t remember what they’re called unfortunately because my friend had a load organic natural freebies she gave to me, but you should check them out and review them in comparison maybe? I’d like to see that anyway!

        Like

Leave a Reply

